Bureau of Land Management Solar Energy Permitting and Program Resources
Quick Links

Solar Energy Zones

The 2012 Western Solar Plan identified 17 solar energy zones (SEZs) on about 285,000 acres [1,553 km2] of Bureau of Land Management (BLM)-administered lands. These SEZs are identified as Designated Leasing Areas (DLAs) in BLM's leasing regulations (43 CFR 2800). The 2012 Western Solar Plan defined SEZs as areas well suited for utility-scale production of solar energy, where the BLM will prioritize solar energy and associated transmission infrastructure development. The Agua Caliente SEZ (AZ) and the West Chocolate Mountains SEZ (CA) were identified in subsequent planning efforts. A discussion of the criteria used to identify SEZs is provided in Section of the 2010 Draft Solar PEIS (PDF, 790 KB).

The map below shows the locations of the SEZs (current as of 2021). Click the sun icons or labels in the map, or follow the links below the map to learn more about each SEZ.

The 2012 Western Solar Plan further facilitated development in SEZs by establishing:

  • SEZ Policies for developing regional mitigation strategies, conducting monitoring and adaptive management, and incentivizing development in SEZs;
  • Protocols for identifying new or expanded SEZs; and
  • Procedures for withdrawal of SEZ lands
Solar Energy Zones Arizona California Colorado Nevada New Mexico Utah Agua Caliente Brenda Gillespie Imperial East Riverside East West Chocolate Mountains Antonito Southeast De Tilla Gulch Los Mogotes East Amargosa Valley Dry Lake Dry Lake Valley North Gold Point Millers Afton Escalante Valley Milford Flats South Wah Wah Valley